Faculty, Staff and Roster

A message from our Chief Residents

We take great pride in our Internal Medicine Residency program at UT Health San Antonio and are happy you have taken the time to visit us! Each of us has a distinct role in making the resident experience enjoyable, education, and enlightening. We hope you strongly consider our program when you are deciding where to apply. We would love to show you our campus, have you meet our great residents and faculty, and get the chance to know how you would fit well into our program!

Things you should consider when deciding on where you will complete your Internal Medicine Residency:

  • Find a well-rounded program that would provive you with an excellent training, diverse pathology and a learning environment that fits your interests.
  • The location of the program should be somewhere that you are your family will enjoy living and where you can find ways to have fun outside of work.

Chief Residents Group PhotoFrom left to right: Dr. Joshua Pozos, Chief Resident of Quality, Safety and Simulation, Dr. Benjamin Stephens, Chief Resident of Scheduling, Dr. Mary Catherine Johnson, Dr. Raudel S. Rodriguez, Chief Resident of Education and Research, and Dr. Alison Wiseman, Chief Resident of Resident Wellness and Outpatient Scheduling.


Our residents works directly with many faculty members at UT Health San Antonio, University Hospital System and the Audie Lee Murphy VA Hospital. We are extremely privileged to have such dedicated, thoughtful and innovative staff.

Brian W. Reeves M.D.

Dr. Reeves is a graduate of Jefferson Medical College and performed Internal Medicine Residency, Chief MedicalResident, and Nephrology Fellowship at the University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston.He has held faculty positions at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences and the Penn State College of Medicine, where he was Chief of Nephrology for 16 years.He joined UT Health San Antonio in 2016 as Chair of Medicine and holds the Dan F. Parman Distinguished Chair and the Marvin Forland Endowed Chair.

Patricia Wathen M.D.

Dr. Wathen received her AB degree in Biology Cum Laude from Harvard University. She received her MD degree from Georgetown University School of Medicine. Dr. Wathen completed her Family Practice training at the Duke/FAHEC Family Medicine Program and her Internal Medicine residency at UT Health San Antonio. She has won numerous teaching awards, including the Presidential Award for Excellence in Clinical Teaching, multiple Teacher of the Year Awards, and the Lifetime Clinical Teaching Award from the Department of Medicine.

Jane O’Rorke M.D.

Dr. O’Rorke received her BA with high honors from Mount Holyoke College, South Hadley, MA and attended The State University of New York Downstate Medical Center, Brooklyn, New York where she was elected to the Alpha Omega Alpha Medical Honors Society. After completing her internship and residency at the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio she served as Chief Resident of the program. She went on to complete a Faculty Development Fellowship at the University of North Carolina Chapel Hill. She is Associate Professor of Medicine in the Divisions of General Internal Medicine and has won numerous teaching awards including Southern Society of General Internal Medicine Clinician Educator of the Year Award and Outstanding Teacher of the Year Award for the Division of General Internal Medicine.

Christopher Moreland, M.D., MPH

Dr. Moreland graduated with a BA in Plan II Honors from UT Austin, followed by UT Houston Medical School as an Alpha Omega Alpha member. After completing internal medicine residency and academic general medicine fellowship at UC Davis in Sacramento, he and his wife, an emergency medicine physician, returned to Texas where he joined the faculty at UT Health San Antonio as an assistant clinical professor. His teaching roles also include co-director of the internal medicine consult rotation as well as the Resident as Teacher elective, team-based learning facilitator with medical students, and Veritas faculty mentor for medical students. His presentations and publications delve into issues relating to effective perioperative medicine, inter-professional communication, health disparities, healthcare interpretation services, and diversity among healthcare professionals. Teaching awards from trainees reflect his continuing interest in medical education.