Our Investigators

Researcher

Research Themes

Awad, Alaa, M.D. Ph.D

Associate Professor, Department of Medicine/Nephrology

awada@uthscsa.edu
210-567-6673

  • Role of Arginase-2 in Diabetic Nephropathy
  • Role of inflammation in Diabetic Nephropathy
  • Role of Pigment Epithelium Derived Factor in Diabetic Nephropathy

Bansal, Shweta M.D.

Associate Professor
Nephrology Fellowship Program Director

bansals3@uthscsa.edu
210-567-5338

  • High dose aldosterone antagonist in acute decompensated heart failure
  • Volume regulation in right heart failure
  • Improving hypertension control in chronic kidney disease in primary care clinics

Darshi, Manjula, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Medicine

darshi@uthscsa.edu
210-567-4700

  • Role of mitochondria in kidney disease
  • Metabolomics and biochemical pathways underlying inflammation

Do, Catherine H. M.D.

Assistant Professor of Medicine

doc@uthscsa.edu
210-567-4802

  • Protective effects of estrogen in contrast-induced fibrosis in menopausal females
  • Contrast-induced kidney, skin and pulmonary fibrosis

Ghosh-Choudhury, Goutam, Ph.D.

Research Professor, Department of Medicine/Nephrology
Senior Research Career Scientist South Texas Veterans Health Care

                                  choudhuryg@uthscsa.edu
                                  210-567-4830

  • Upstream and downstream regulators of mechanistic target of rapamycin (mTOR) in diabetic nephropathy.
  • Role of microRNAs in diabetic nephropathy and renal cell carcinoma

Hazuda, Helen, P., Ph.D.

Professor/Research and Professor Emeritus, Department of Medicine/Nephrology

hazuda@uthscsa.edu
210-567-4799

  • Clinical study of cardiovascular disease, diabetic nephropathy and aging
  • Algorithms and methodologic clinical research tools
  • Regulation of kidney protein synthesis and fibrosis by hydrogen sulfide in diabetes and aging.
  • Role of insulin receptor activation in kidney injury in obesity

Muniswamy, Madesh, Ph.D.

Professor, Department of Medicine/Nephrology

muniswamy@uthscsa.edu
210-450-8249

Reeves, Brian, M.D., FACP, FASN

Professor, Medicine/Nephrology
Forland Chair in Medicine
Chairman, Department of Medicine

                                  reevesw@uthscsa.edu
                                  210-567-4810

  • Inflammation in Acute Kidney Injury
  • Ion Channels in Acute Kidney Injury
  • Tumor Necrosis Factor in Diabetic Nephropathy
  • Mitochondrial dysfunction in response to glucose and other nutrient stresses
  • TransOmics analysis in humans and experimental models of disease
  • Characterization of biomarkers in human kidney tissues and biosamples to support Precision Medicine clinical trials for kidney disease.