Patient care and clinical services

The Pulmonary Division UT Health San Antonio is one of the state’s major clinical referral centers and boasts a comprehensive set of pulmonary outpatient services, as well as in-patient pulmonary and critical care services. A more detailed list is below.

Outpatient clinic services available:

  • Interstitial Lung Disease Specialty Clinic
  • Pulmonary Hypertension Specialty Clinic
  • Lung Transplant Specialty Clinic
  • Interventional Pulmonary Specialty Clinic
  • Cystic Fibrosis Specialty Clinic
  • Lung Nodule and Mass Clinic
  • Severe Asthma Specialty Clinic
  • University Hospital Comprehensive Pulmonary Medicine Clinic
  • South Texas VA Comprehensive Pulmonary Medicine Clinic
  • Medical Arts and Research Center (MARC) Comprehensive Pulmonary Medicine Clinic
  • Cardiopulmonary Exercise Testing
  • Pulmonary Function Lab Testing

Critical care medicine services available:

  • Medical ICU (MICU)
  • Neuro-ICU (NICU)
  • Cardiothoracic ICU (CTICU)
  • Surgical ICU (SICU)

Interventional pulmonary services offered:

The following are just some of the diagnostic and therapeutic services offered, many of which are unique to south Texas:

  • Endobronchial US-guided Transbronchial Needle Aspiration of mediastinal lymph nodes (Convex EBUS-TBNA)
  • Peripheral/Radial EBUS-TBNA
  • Endobronchial and transbronchial biopsies
  • Rigid Bronchoscopy
  • Airway stent placements
  • Airway balloon dilation therapy for airway stenosis
  • Airway ablative procedures (laser, APC, cryotherapy, electrocautery)
  • Percutaneous tracheostomy
  • Ultrasound-guided thoracentesis
  • Chest tube placement
  • Tunneled pleural catheter placement for persistent pleural effusions
  • Bronchial thermoplasty for severe resistant asthma
  • Whole lung lavage
  • Endobronchial valve placement for persistent bronchopleural fistulas
  • Swan-Ganz/Right-Heart/Pulmonary Artery Catheter Placement

Contact Us

7400 Merton Minter
VAH 5th Floor Rm C516
San Antonio, TX 78229

Phone: 210-567-5792
Fax: 210-949-3006

Division of Pulmonary Diseases & Critical Care Medicine -Leadership & Staff

Name

Title

Email

Telephone

Anzueto, Antonio R. Chief, Pulmonary STVHCS Audie Murphy VA Hospital/ Professor of Medicine
Professor
anzueto@uthscsa.edu 210-617-5256
Levine, Stephanie M. Fellowship Program Director
Professor
levines@uthscsa.edu 210-567-5792
Peters, Jay I. Chief of Division Pulmonary Diseases & Critical Care Medicine peters@uthscsa.edu 210-567-5792
Restrepo, Marcos Associate Fellowship Program Director
Associate Professor
restrepom@uthscsa.edu 210-617-5256
Alcaraz, Ailene Fellowship Program Coordinator alcaraz@uthscsa.edu 210-567-4928
Garzareck, Aminah Manager, Finance & Administration garzareck@uthscsa.edu 210-617-5300 ext. 15719
Rendon-Smith, Eva Administrative Assistant – Senior rendone@uthscsa.edu 210-450-8996
Rodriguez, Michelle Administrative Assistant – Senior rodriguezM43@uthscsa.edu 210-567-5792