Mobile Logo in White

Presidential Awards

Presidential Award Recipients

Distinguished Service to the Institution

Robert Leverence, MD, FACP, Professor of Medicine and Chief Medical Officer, UT Health Physicians, Long School of Medicine

Distinguished Research Scholar

Thomas F. Patterson, MD, FACP, FIDSA, Chief, Division of Infectious Diseases, Professor of Medicine, Department of Medicine, Long School of Medicine

Clinical Excellence

Jason E. Bowling, MD, FIDSA, Associate Professor/Clinical, Division of Infectious Diseases, Department of Medicine, Long School of Medicine

Laura Novak, OTD, OTR, BCG, Clinical Assistant Professor, Department of Occupational Therapy, School of Health Professions

Raj Sehgal, MD, Clinical Associate Professor and Section Chief of Hospital Medicine (VA), Department of Medicine, Long School of Medicine

Cindy Sickora, DNP, RN, Clinical Professor, Howard & Betty Halff Endowed Professorship in Nursing Excellence for Patient Care, Vice Dean of Practice and Engagement, School of Nursing

Luis C. Yepes, DDS, MS1, Assistant Professor/Clinical, Department of Comprehensive Dentistry, School of Dentistry

Teaching Excellence

A.J. Carpenter, MD, PhD, Professor/Clinical and Program Director, Department of Cardiothoracic Surgery, Long School of Medicine

Brian L. Mealey, DDS, MS, Professor and Graduate Program Director, Department of Periodontics, School of Dentistry

Haley Nation, PhD, Assistant Professor/Clinical, Department of Cell Systems and Anatomy, Long School of Medicine

Meredith Quinene, DHSc, MPAS, PA-C, DFAAPA, Assistant Professor, Department of Physician Assistant Studies, School of Health Professions

Heidi J. Worabo, DNP, APRN, FNP-BC, FAANP, Associate Professor/Clinical, School of Nursing

Employee Excellence

Jennifer Cerecero, MS, CHP, LMP, Director, Radiation Safety, Office of Environmental Health and Safety

Albert Contreras, SHRM-CP, PHR, Manager, HR Service Delivery, Office of Human Resources

Stephanie R. Gutierrez, BA, Program Coordinator-Senior, School of Medicine Office of UME

Ellen Nystrom, BA, Director, Veteran Services and Financial Aid, Office of Financial Aid

Elizabeth Walton, Clinical Information System Analyst-Senior, UT Health Physicians Administrative EPIC Practice Management

Team Excellence

COVID-19 Clinical Trials Response Team

Robin Tragus, MSN, RN, Clinical Research Nurse Supervisor, Department of Medicine/Infectious Diseases, Team Leader

44 Team Members


COVID-19 Rapid Response Testing Team

Marjorie David, MD, Assistant Professor/Clinical, Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine, Team Leader

24 Team Members


Environmental Health and Safety Team

Michael A. Charlton, PhD, CHP, LMP, CIH, CSP, Assistant Vice President, Office of Risk Management and Safety, Team Leader

21 Team Members

2021 Presidental awards