LINC Academic Affairs Council

The LINC Academic Affairs Council is comprised of the Vice and Associate Deans for Academic Affairs or Curriculum across all Schools at UT Health San Antonio. Its primary contributions to the QEP involve strengthening curricular integration of interprofessional education (IPE) and cultivating IPE knowledge & skills. To achieve these goals, members of this LINC Council lead or oversee school-based IPE task forces or committees charged with the development and annual review/revision of program-specific IPE Plans in accordance with the consensus national guideline developed by the Health Professions Accreditors Collaborative in concert with the National Center for Interprofessional Practice and Education. The LINC Academic Affairs Council also supports the success of multiple LINC programs and projects, including the LINC Common IPE Experience, LINC Seed Grant Program, and LINC Faculty & Staff Development Program.

Interprofessional Education Plans 

Click here to view UT Health San Antonio’s 12 IPE Plans for academic year 2023-2024.

Annual Workplan & Priorities Documents

Current – 2024
Past – 2022, 2023

Contributions to Collaborative Scholarship

Click here to view a summary of scholarly dissemination products from the LINC Academic Affairs Council.

Deborah Conway: LINC Academic Affairs CouncilDeborah Conway, M.D.
Vice Dean for Undergraduate Medical Education
Long School of Medicine

Deborah Conway, M.D., is the Vice Dean for Undergraduate Medical Education and Professor of Obstetrics & Gynecology in the Long School of Medicine at UT Health San Antonio, where she has responsibility for the four-year course-based curriculum for medical students. She has published and presented primarily in the areas of medical education and diabetes in pregnancy. Dr. Conway received her BS in Biology at Texas A&M University, her MD at the McGovern Medical School at UT Health Houston, and completed training in obstetrics/gynecology and maternal-fetal medicine at UT Health San Antonio.

Sara Gill: LINC Academic Affairs CouncilSara Gill, Ph.D., RN, FAAN
Associate Dean for Graduate Studies
School of Nursing

Sara Gill, Ph.D., RN, FAAN, joined the faculty at the UT Health San Antonio School of Nursing in 1998. She is a tenured professor whose passions include interprofessional research and education. Dr. Gill’s research, teaching, and practice interests include maternal/child health, breastfeeding, and research methodologies with a focus on qualitative techniques. Since 2015, Dr. Gill has served as the Associate Dean for Graduate Studies in the School of Nursing. In this role, she oversees faculty, staff, and student activities within the Master of Science in Nursing, Doctor of Nursing Practice, and Doctor of Philosophy programs.

David Henzi: LINC Academic Affairs CouncilDavid Henzi, Ed.D.
Associate Dean for Student Affairs
School of Health Professions

David Henzi, Ed.D., is the Associate Dean for Academic and Student Affairs in the School of Health Professions and an Associate Professor of Occupational Therapy at UT Health San Antonio. Dr. Henzi has worked in K-12, undergraduate, and graduate education for over 20 years. While serving in both the Long School of Medicine and School of Health Professions at UT Health San Antonio, Dr. Henzi has increased opportunities for IPE both within and across programs. Dr. Henzi received his BA in Psychology from the University of Texas and his Master’s and Doctorate in Education from Texas Tech University

Cynthia O’Neal: LINC Academic Affairs CouncilCynthia O’Neal, Ph.D., RN
Associate Dean for Undergraduate Studies
School of Nursing

Cynthia O’Neal, Ph.D., RN, is a tenured professor in the UT Health San Antonio School of Nursing and is a seasoned academician with over 30 years of experience in nursing education. She earned a doctorate degree from Vanderbilt University and is an experienced administrator with a focus on undergraduate education. She fosters faculty excellence by supporting faculty as they engage in classroom and clinical innovation, particularly in the areas of simulation and IPE.

Bridgett Piernik-YoderBridgett Piernik-Yoder, Ph.D., OTR
Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
Chair and Professor, Department of Occupational Therapy
School of Health Professions

Bridgett Piernik-Yoder, Ph.D., OTR, FAOTA, is an occupational therapist with clinical expertise in adult rehabilitation. She serves as chair of the Department of Occupational Therapy at UT Health San Antonio, Texas, USA. Dr. Piernik-Yoder has extensive experience in developing interprofessional education and simulated learning experiences for occupational therapy and health science students. A component of Dr. Piernik-Yoder’s research has always involved systematically investigating occupational therapy education outcomes through the scholarship of teaching and learning. Her professional service includes being part of the leadership team for the American Occupational Therapy Association’s Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Institute and Mentoring program. Dr. Piernik-Yoder has frequently presented at national and international conferences on topics related to interprofessional education, and her published numerous journal articles and book chapters on education theory and outcomes.

Timothy Raabe: LINC Academic Affairs CouncilTimothy Raabe, Ph.D.
Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences

Timothy Raabe, Ph.D., is the Associate Dean of Academic Affairs in the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences and a Professor of Nursing at UT Health San Antonio. Dr. Raabe received his BS and MS in Biology from Southwest Texas State University, and he earned his Ph.D. in Zoology (Physiology) from the University of Texas at Austin. Following his postdoctoral fellowship in the laboratory of Dr. George DeVries at Loyola University Medical Center in Chicago, Dr. Raabe accepted a faculty position at St. Mary’s University in San Antonio where he taught undergraduate biology majors for over 20 years.

Adriana Segura: LINC Academic Affairs CouncilAdriana Segura, D.D.S., M.S.
Senior Associate Dean for Academic, Faculty, and Student Affairs
School of Dentistry

Adriana Segura, D.D.S., M.S., graduated from dental school in 1990, then completed a general practice residency program in 1991. She received her certificate/master’s degree in Pediatric Dentistry from the University of Iowa and was director of General Practice Residency through 1999. She was Predoctoral Director for the Pediatric Dentistry Program for six years at UT Health San Antonio and served as the Interim Chair for the Department of Community Dentistry, the Associate Dean for Student Affairs from 2009 to 2018, Interim Dean for the Dental School June 1, 2018 to February 1, 2019, Interim Chair for the Department of Comprehensive Dentistry and Senior Associate Dean for Academic, Faculty and Student Affairs.